Rana Parveen Siddiqui And Anr vs Union Of India And Ors on 8 January, 2016

1. These two appeals are preferred against the order dated 18.11.2015
passed by the learned Single Judge declining to grant interim relief pending
W.P.(C) No.10047/2015 and W.P.(C).4226/2015.
2. We have heard the learned counsel appearing for both the parties.
3. In exercise of the powers conferred under Section 13 and Section 14
of the Waqf Act, 1995 (hereinafter referred to as ‘the Act’), the Government
of National Capital Territory of Delhi constituted Delhi Waqf Board (for
short referred to as ‘the Board’) vide Notification dated 27.12.2011.
4. In terms of Section 14(1)(b) of the Act, the said Board consisted four
elected members from the electoral college constituted for each category
mentioned therein, namely, one member of Parliament from the State, one
member of the State Legislature, one member of Delhi State Bar Council
and Mutawalli apart from three members nominated by the State
Government in terms of Section 14(1)(c) of the Act.

Source: Indian Kanoon

Leave a Reply