Nobel Peace Prize awarded to Kailash Satyarthi from India and Malala Yousafzai from Pakistan

Malala Yousafzai and Kailash Satyarthi

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzay for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

– Malala Yousafzai, an activist for girls’ education in Pakistan, has been fighting for a few years for the right of #girlstoeducation,and emphasising that children must go to schools and and not be financially exploited.

– Mr Satyarthi, 60, a child right activist from India, has maintained the tradition of #MahatmaGandhi and headed various forms of peaceful protests, “focusing on the grave exploitation of children for financial gain,” the committee said. He has also contributed to the development of important international conventions on children’s rights.

– #MalalaYousafzai was named one of the Time magazine’s most influential people in 2013, and awarded the EU’s prestigious #SakharovHumanRightsPrize.

– “The Nobel Committee regards it as an important point for a Hindu and a Muslim, an Indian and a Pakistani, to join in a common struggle for education and against extremism,” the committee said.

Leave a Reply