Reported by Varun ReddyThe National Law School of India
University won the sixth NALSAR Inter-Varsity Parliamentary Debate held at the
NALSAR University of Law. The tournament spanned three days, running from the 4th
to the 6th of September. It witnessed the participation of 68 teams,
with two members each, and 77 adjudicators from across the country.

The Core Adjudicators for the
event were Saad Ashraf (Champion, Dhaka University IV, Finalist NSU IV),
Natasha Rachman (Finalist at the World Universities Debating Championship 2015,
Chief Adjudicator at Oxford IV), Viraj Parikh (Winner NALSAR IV, Mukherjee
Memorial Debate) and Amritha Varshini (Winner SMCPD, semi-finalist VITDT) – all
reputed names in the debating circuit.

The format involved four teams
of two members each – the Opening Government, Opening Opposition, Closing
Government and Closing Opposition. Teams were given topics (“motions”) on the
spot and had fifteen minutes to prepare before each person delivered speeches of
seven minutes, open to points of information from the opposite bench. 

The final round of the
competition featured two teams from NLSIU, Bangalore, and a team each from VIT
and NUJS, Kolkata, debating the motion “This House would take into account ‘I
was under orders’ as a legitimate mitigating factor in war crimes’ trials”,
with the team from NLSIU comprising Isha Jain and Vanshaj Jain winning the
NALSAR IV. Finals Panelist Pranshul Joshi characterized the underlying issue of
the debate as a question of whether a common soldier can be understood as
exercising personal agency or thought to the orders of his superiors during
situations of war.

The Encore Award for Best
Adjudicator went to Gaurav Saraf from MSRIT, Bangalore, while the Meera Sinha
Award for Best Speaker went to Saharsh Sood from VIT. The Associated Law
Advisers Award for Best Novice Team went to BITS Hyderabad.
Source: Legal news India